

# IMMEDIATE RELEASE

### 11/22/2024 - HONOR & DESIGN AWARDS

AIA Rhode Island announced recipients Thursday at the 2024 Rhode Island Honor and Design Awards Celebration! held at The Guild, Pawtucket.

AIA Rhode Island is committed to excellence in architecture and celebrates outstanding works of architecture through its annual Design Awards Program.

The purpose of the program is to recognize achievements in design by Rhode Island architects and to honor the project teams and the clients who work with them to create and enhance our built environment.

Thank you to the 2024 Design Awards Committee:

Emma Osborne, AIA: Co-Chair - DBVW Architects

Linda K. Penaloza, Assoc. AIA: Co-Chair - Vision 3 Architects

Francois Karam - The Garland Company

Ian Buckley, AIA - JBDJGA Design and Architecture

Kyle Tomisman, AIA - Vision 3 Architects

Rebecca L. Fletcher, AIA - Goody Clancy

Taylor M. Hughes, AIA - Union Studio

Tyler Baum, AIA - DBVW Architects

Héctor Ríos, AIA: 2024 Chapter President - Vision 3 Architects

Roni Phipps: Executive Director, AIAri

#### INDIVIDUAL HONORS:

NEW RHODE ISLAND ARCHITECTS	Pourita Das	
	Matthew Dayton Callahan, AIA	
	John Patrick Dye, AIA	
	Hanna Renee Fortin	
	Jessica Brooke Jacobs, AIA	
	Julia Ricklin, AIA	
	Matthew Charles Silva	
	Nathan Woods	
ARCHISTAR	Gloria Gemma	
MORSE STONE FELLOWSHIP	Héctor Ríos, AIA	



#### **DESIGN AWARDS BY CATEGORY**

Thank you to the 2024 Design Awards Jury:
Gregory Walker, AIA, LEED AP
Jared Serwer, AIA, NOMA, LEED AP BD+C
John Bencich, AIA, NCIDQ
KK Loy, AIA
Desmond Johnson, AIA
Julie Ju-Youn Kim, AIA
Howard S. Wertheimer, FAIA Emeritus, LEED AP

Category	Award	Project	Architect
Architecture of Rehabilitation	Citation	Southside Community Land Trust Headquarters	Union Studio
Historic Preservation	Citation	Mary Baker Eddy Historic House	DBWV Architects
Commercial Architecture: Retail & Hospitality	Citation	Grazina - Event Space	Jack Ryan Architect
Residential Architecture	Citation	Nonquitt House	Estes Twombly + Titrington Architects
Interior Architecture	Merit Award	L' Artisan Cafe	Jack Ryan Architect
Commercial Architecture: Higher Education	Citation	Sharpe House Renovation and Addition	Kite Architects
Commercial Architecture: Higher Education	Honor Award	Brown University Brook Street Residence Halls	TenBerke Design
Residential Architecture	Honor Award	West Pond House	Estes Twombly + Titrington Architects
Residential Architecture	Honor Award	Newport Modern	David Stern Architects

## **DESIGN AWARDS BY CATEGORY (Public Vote)**

CATEGORY	PROJECT	ARCHITECT
People's Choice Award	Bank RI	DBWV Architects

End of Press Release - Page 2 of 2



AIA Rhode Island PO Box 9325 Providence, RI 02940 (401) 272-6418 info@aia-ri.org www.aia-ri.org