The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Maine Chapter was pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 AIA New England Design Awards Program at their September 30th Design Awards Celebration. The event took place at the Customs House building in Portland, Maine.

The annual award program recognizes design excellence in projects in Rhode Island or by Rhode Island Architects.

A Vermont-based jury met to review entries of varying size and scope. The jury included Jesse Beck, AIA, Freeman French Freeman, Andrea Kerz-Murray, AIA, Vermont Integrated Architecture John Rahill, AIA, Black River Design Architects, and John McLeod, AIA, McLeod Kredell Architects.  The jury moderator was Jennifer Space, Assoc. AIA

New England Medical Design

The jury chose to recognize 41 total projects. Awards were given over a number of categories in three classifications: Honor, Merit, and Citation, with Honor being the highest category.

The 2016 award winners of the juried review are:

Residential Category

Merit Award: Briggs Marsh by Estes / Twombly Architects Inc.

Merit Award: Mason’s Island  House by Estes / Twombly Architects Inc.

Merit Award: River House by Estes / Twombly Architects Inc.

Honor Award: Prospect St. Residence by Kite Architects, Inc.


Educational/Institutional Category

Merit Award: Southlight by James Barnes and Rhode Island School of Design

Honor Award: New Academic Center, St. George’s School by EYP Architecture and Engineering, Inc.

Honor Award: Bryant University Strength and Conditioning Center by Sasaki Associates, Inc.


Historic Preservation Category

Merit Award: Lila Delman Real Estate Office by Northeast Collaborative Architeects

Merit Award: The Vets by Northeast Collaborative Architects


Interiors Category:

Merit Award: International School of Kazan-President’s Primary School by Fielding Nair, Rhode Island Studio

Honor Award: Pet Food Experts Corporate Headquarters by Vision 3 Architects

Visit to view the winners.