Architect Licensure

Getting Licensed


Active in the AXP

Actively taking the ARE


About Architect Licensure

Architects are licensed at the state level; there is no national license to practice architecture. Each state has their own prerequisites for a licensure application to be approved, which can be better explained under three headings: education, experience and examination. The State of Rhode Island has adopted the following for initial licensure:

  • Education: A NAAB accredited degree satisfies the education requirement.   
  • Experience: Completion of NCARB’s Architectural Experience Program® (AXP™) satisfies the experience requirement.
  • Examination: Completion of NCARB’s Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®) satisfies the examination requirement.


State Licensure Board 

NCARB’s Licensing Requirement Tool (Sortable by question or state)


Contact State Licensing Advisor with questions
Jonathan M. Taylor, AIA – RI