The 2015 AIAri Design Awards winners were announced on Thursday, December 3, 2015 at the Providence Public Library during the Annual Design Awards Celbration.

The chapter also awarded its prestigious Archistar Award, which recognizes exceptional individual contributions to architecture by non-architects.

Melissa Arrighi, Town Manager for the Town of Plymouth, MA, was awarded the 2015 Archistar Award as the driving force behind the project involving the restoration of an historic 1820 Courthouse building and design of a large new Town Hall attached to the Courhouse that  will be moved to the center of the historic town where it will have the best possible impact.

The annual competition celebrates outstanding works of architecture from Rhode Island architects and honors the project teams and clients who work with them.

This year’s winners were selected by a jury of four judges drawn from the AIA Minneapolis chapter- David Dimond, AIA, Perkins + Will, Ann Voda, AIA, Bentz/Thompson/Rietow, Inc., Phillip Koski, AIA, Miller Dunwiddie Architecture and Marcy Shulte, AIA, Cunningham Group.  Edward Frenette, Symmes, Maini & McKee, Associates served as the jury moderator.

The winners of the 2015 AIAri Design Awards are:

Residential Category

Merit Award: Fogland House by Estes / Twombly Architects Inc.

Merit Award: Block Island House by Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Honor Award: Stone Barn at a Coastal Farm by Bohlin Cywinski and Jackson


Educational/Institutional Category

Merit Award: Gender and Sexuality Center at URI by LLB Architects

Merit Award: Gilder Center for the Arts by Ann Beha Architects

Honor Award: Anna Fasciatelli Fitness and Wellness Center at URI

Click here to view the winners.

For more information please contact